It's not always easy to find your way around a station, especially if it's a large one and you don't go there often. For visually impaired people, the story is even more complicated: the tactile floors are not always laid out in the most optimal way, are sometimes full of obstacles or, even worse, they're not always installed in our stations. These visually impaired travelers cannot navigate easily in the station, which limits their freedom and independence. They often waste a lot of time asking for directions.

In order to improve their experience, the Innovation Lab sought, and found, the solution. Thanks to Navilens - an application that uses Enhanced QR-codes - visually impaired travellers can now navigate the station without the help of an external person. These codes can be scanned from more than ten meters away, in a few microseconds and from several angles (you don't have to be facing the code for the scanning to work).

A very practical solution!

Thanks to Navilens' QR codes, visually impaired people get all the information they need about the layout of spaces (where the platforms are, the ticket offices, the toilets, etc.), the distance between them ("the toilets are 15m on the left") and real-time information about the trains. All this information is transmitted orally by the application. For example, a visually impaired person on a platform can scan the platform QR code and the app will tell them which train is coming next. In addition, the tool is translated into several different languages, which also allows tourists - visually impaired or not - to benefit from it.

Still being tested

At the moment, this technology is still being tested in our Brussels South station. In a first phase, we tested it with a small group of visually impaired people. We placed the Navilens code stickers at different angles to find out what was most suitable. Thanks to testing with our customers, we realised that the best combination was the QR codes on the floor combined with tactile floors.

What's next ?

Our next objective is to test this technology with a larger group in another station, using a combination of tactile floors and Navilens stickers. The lessons we learned from our first POC is that Navilens does not work when used alone. To guarantee maximum assistance to visually impaired travellers, it must be combined with the right infrastructure.
loader

Il n’est pas toujours facile de se repérer dans une gare surtout lorsque celle-ci est grande et que l’on ne s’y rend pas souvent. Pour les personnes malvoyantes, l’histoire est encore plus compliquée : les sols tactiles ne sont pas toujours agencés de la manière la plus optimale et sont parfois truffés d’obstacles. Ces personnes à visibilité réduite ne peuvent donc pas naviguer facilement dans la gare, cela limite leur liberté et leur indépendance. Ils perdent souvent beaucoup de temps à demander leur chemin.

Afin d’améliorer leur expérience, l’Innovation Lab a cherché, et trouvé, la solution. Grâce à Navilens - application mettant en place des QR codes – les voyageurs malvoyants peuvent désormais naviguer dans la gare sans aide de personnes externes. Ces QR codes peuvent être scannés à plus d’une dizaine de mètres, en quelques microsecondes et depuis plusieurs angles (il ne faut pas être en face pour que le scanning fonctionne).

Une solution très pratique !

Grâce aux QR codes de Navilens, les personnes malvoyantes obtiennent toutes les informations nécessaires concernant l’agencement des espaces (où sont les voies, les guichets, les toilettes, etc.), la distance entre ceux-ci (« les toilettes sont à 15m sur la gauche ») et l’information en temps réel concernant les trains. Toutes ces informations sont transmises oralement par l’application. Par exemple, une personne malvoyante présente sur un quai peut scanner le QR code du quai et l’application lui dira quel est le prochain train à entrer en gare.

De plus, l’outil est traduit dans plusieurs langues différentes, ce qui permet également aux touristes - malvoyants ou non - de pouvoir en bénéficier.

Encore en test

A l’heure actuelle, cette technologie est toujours en expérimentation dans notre gare de Bruxelles-Midi. Dans un premier temps, nous l’avons testé avec un petit groupe de personnes malvoyantes. On a collé les stickers de QR codes à différents angles afin de savoir ce qui était le plus adapté. On s’est rendu compte que la meilleure association était celle des QR-codes au sol combinés avec sols tactiles.

What’s next ?

Notre prochain objectif est de tester cette technologie avec un plus grand groupe et ce, dans une autre gare en faisant la combinaison sols tactiles et stickers Navilens. Les leçons que nous avons tirées de notre premier POC est que Navilens ne fonctionne pas lorsqu’il est utilisé tout seul. Pour garantir une aide maximale aux voyageurs malvoyants, il doit être combiné avec la bonne infrastructure.

loader