Durabilité

To find out more, download our brochure "Sustainable transport, sustainable work"

Strengthen the sustainable DNA of SNCB

We would like to offer and further develop the sustainable ability to travel and we are concentrating on the actions likely to generate the greatest possible respect for the environment. That's why we are planning the following actions:

  • To increase energy efficiency and reduce CO2 emissions

In parallel with the energy-saving measures that we are adopting, we are increasingly opting for sustainable energy sources. We thus intend to reduce our use of fossil fuels and to limit CO2 emissions.

  • To rationalise water consumption

The toilets in trains and stations and maintenance activities require large quantities of water. Given that clean water is becoming a scarce and expensive commodity on our planet, we want to reduce the consumption of tap water, in particular by using rainwater for maintenance activities. We are also undertaking the treatment of waste water, for example train washing facilities so as not to discharge any substances that are harmful to the environment.

  • To use fewer consumables

Like all large companies, we consume a large quantity of products to facilitate daily operations. The big challenge for the years ahead will consist of reducing paper consumption.

  • To reduce and sort waste

We are concentrating our waste policy on separate collection of different categories of waste (paper, plastic, metal and drink cartons, glass, other waste) in large stations and office buildings. In workshops, a strict policy is applied on separate collection and recycling, in particular for hazardous waste.

  • To combat noise pollution

Trains cause less of a nuisance that the rest of traffic, but any reduction in noise pollution, in particular by using quieter trains, continues to be a focus.

  • To continue to decontaminate soil

In terms of using space, the train is also longer than other means of transport. Decontamination of the soil definitely remains a critical priority. Workshop premises and clusters of track sidings are often characterised by historic pollution and require decontamination.

plan d'actions

Our action plan

For the period 2017-2022

vision

Our vision

Sustainable travel as a pillar of a sustainable society

transporter durable

"Sustainable transport, sustainable work" brochure

Under the motto “Sustainable transport, sustainable work”, we are encouraging all of our partners to go green.

Durabilité

Pour en savoir plus, téléchargez notre brochure "Transporter durable, travailler durable"

Renforcer l’ADN durable de la SNCB

Nous voulons offrir et développer davantage une mobilité durable en nous concentrant sur les actions susceptibles de générer le meilleur respect environnemental possible. C’est pourquoi nous prévoyons les actions suivantes :

  • Accroître l’efficacité énergétique et réduire les émissions de CO2

Parallèlement aux mesures d’économie d’énergie que nous adoptons, nous optons de plus en plus pour des sources d’énergie durable. Nous entendons ainsi réduire notre utilisation de combustibles fossiles et limiter les émissions de CO2.

  • Rationaliser la consommation d’eau

Les sanitaires dans les trains et les gares et les activités d’entretien nécessitent de grandes quantités d’eau. Étant donné que l’eau pure devient une denrée rare et coûteuse sur notre planète, nous voulons réduire la consommation d’eau de ville, notamment en utilisant de l’eau de pluie pour les activités d’entretien. Nous procédons également à l’épuration des eaux usées, p. ex. des installations de lavage des trains, afin de ne déverser aucune substance nocive pour l’environnement.

  • Utiliser moins de consommables

À l’instar de toutes les grandes entreprises, nous consommons une grande quantité de produits pour assurer son fonctionnement journalier. Le défi prioritaire pour les années à venir consistera à diminuer la consommation de papier.

  • Réduire et trier les déchets

Nous concentrons notre politique en matière de déchets sur une collecte séparée des différentes catégories de déchets (papier, PMC, verre, déchets résiduels) dans les grandes gares et les immeubles de bureaux. Dans les ateliers, une politique stricte est appliquée en matière de collecte séparée et de recyclage, notamment pour les déchets dangereux.

  • Lutter contre les nuisances sonores

Les trains causent moins de nuisances que le reste du trafic, mais la réduction des éventuelles nuisances sonores, notamment en utilisant des trains plus silencieux, reste un point d’attention.

  • Continuer à assainir le sol

En termes d’utilisation de l’espace, le train a aussi une longueur d’avance sur bien d’autres modes. Un assainissement du sol reste certes indispensable. Les terrains des ateliers et faisceaux de voies sont souvent caractérisés par une pollution historique et requièrent un assainissement.

plan d'actions
Nos points d'action

Pour la période 2017-2022

vision
Notre vision 

Une mobilité durable comme pilier d'une société durable

transporter durable
Brochure "Transporter durable, travailler durable"

Avec la devise “Transporter durable, travailler durable”, nous encourageons tous nos collaborateurs à passer au vert.