services staff

In addition to its 5 operational directorates, SNCB has at its disposal several corporate services tasked with assisting the directorates in their activities.

This corporate service is made up of five full entities in their own right:

  • Strategy & Economic Analysis plays an important role in monitoring SNCB's commitments to the State, as provided for in the management contract and the transport agreement. Otherwise, this service plays a central role in the preparation, monitoring and evaluation of the company's strategy.
  • Legal Affairs examines all types of legal questions and issues with which SNCB and its subsidiaries may be confronted as part of their business activities and strategic decisions.
  • The secretariat for the management bodies provides support to the Board of Directors, the Management Committee and other specific committee within SNCB.
  • International strategy & partnerships has responsibility for the activities and the subsidiaries/participating interests in international transport, whose main objective is to define and implement a global, cross-sectional strategy in collaboration with the operational directorates.
  • SNCB IT provides IT services, projects and a support process for the various directorates and subsidiaries of SNCB, and does so in collaboration with the YPTO subsidiary.

SNCB's Human Resources (B-HR) corporate service is tasked with supporting all of SNCB's directorates and staff services in terms of their human resource management in close observance of operational functionality and the specific requirements of SNCB.

The Express Regional Networks ('RER') for Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent, Liège and Charleroi, the product of a joint collaboration between SNCB, STIB, De Lijn and TEC, offer a combined overall train, tram, underground and bus service so as to facilitate transport from, to, in and around these five urban conurbations, within a radius of 30 km. Overall service is specifically understood to mean harmonised fares, integrated ticketing (single tickets and zonal season tickets) and co-ordinated timetabling.

The remit of the B-RG Service consists of developing the suburban rail service within the general RER service (SNCB suburban service + service of the regional operators) and to guarantee its efficient operation.

To fulfil this remit, B-RG relies on adapting suburban networks according to the town and country planning developments of the conurbations and on the "4 P" Marketing Mix initiative by developing and integrating the "suburban rail" product into an Express Regional Networks ('RER')  transport initiative within the network.

The most important tasks of B-RG notably include:

  • Co-ordination in terms of the implementation of suburban services ("S" service) within the five conurbations and integrating these into the services provided by STIB, SRWT and De Lijn;
  • Co-ordinating intermodal transport links within the five conurbations and further developing the national intermodal strategy.
  • Studying demand in the medium to long term to identify potential areas of growth.

The preparation of documents concerning the tasks and remit of the RER Steering Committee and the implementation of all of the decisions of the Board of Directors regarding the operation of the Express Regional Networks ('RER'), and how it organises collaboration with the Regional Transport Companies.

Corporate Communications & Public Affairs is responsible for media contact, external communication on strategy and the business and internal communication activities with regard to staff. Public Affairs aims to offer an enhanced understanding of the policy implemented by SNCB by developing a relationship of trust with stakeholders.

services staff

En plus de ses 5 directions opérationnelles, la SNCB dispose de plusieurs services corporate destinés à aider les directions dans leurs activités.

Ce service corporate est constitué de cinq entités à part entière :

  • Strategy & Economic Analysis joue un rôle important dans le suivi des engagements de la SNCB à l’égard de l’Etat, comme le contrat de gestion et la convention de transport le prévoient. Par ailleurs, ce service joue un rôle central dans la préparation, le suivi et l’évaluation de la stratégie de la société.
  • Legal Affairs traite les questions et les problèmes juridiques de toute nature auxquels la SNCB et ses filiales peuvent être confrontées dans le cadre de leurs activités et choix stratégiques.
  • Le secrétariat des organes de gestion assure le support du Conseil d'administration, du Comité de direction et d'autres comités spécifiques de la SNCB.
  • International strategy & partnerships est chargé des activités et des filiales/participations en transport international, avec pour objectif principal la définition et l'exécution d'une stratégie globale et transversale en collaboration avec les directions opérationnelles.
  • SNCB IT fournit des services informatiques, des projets et un support de processus pour les différentes directions et filiales de la SNCB, ce en collaboration avec la filiale YPTO.

Le service corporate SNCB Human Resources (B-HR) a pour mission de soutenir toutes les directions et services staff de la SNCB au niveau de la une gestion du personnel en tenant compte du fonctionnement opérationnel et des besoins spécifiques de la SNCB.

Les réseaux Express Régionaux de Bruxelles, Anvers, Gand, Liège et Charleroi, fruit d’une collaboration entre la SNCB, la STIB, De Lijn et les TEC, mettent à disposition une offre globale combinée de train, tram, métro et bus de manière à faciliter les déplacements de, vers, dans et autour de ces cinq agglomérations, dans un rayon de 30 km. Par offre globale, il est notamment entendu des tarifs harmonisés, une billetterie intégrée (tickets uniques et abonnements zonaux) et des horaires coordonnés.

La mission du Service B-RG consiste à développer l'offre ferroviaire suburbaine au sein de l’offre RER générale (offre suburbaine SNCB + offre des opérateurs régionaux) et d’en assurer un fonctionnement efficace.

Pour remplir cette mission, B-RG s’appuie sur l’adaptation des réseaux suburbains en fonction du développement territoriale des agglomérations et sur l’approche Marketing Mix « 4 P » en développant et en intégrant le produit « train suburbain » dans une approche RER de mobilité en réseau.

Les tâches les plus importantes de B-RG comprennent notamment :

  • La coordination relative à la mise en place de des offres suburbaines (offre « S ») au sein des cinq agglomérations et l’intégration de ces dernières aux offres de la STIB, la SRWT et De Lijn ;
  • Coordonner l’intermodalité au sein des cinq agglomérations et élaborer la stratégie intermodale nationale.
  • Etudier la demande à moyen terme et à long terme afin de détecter les potentiels de croissance.

La préparation de documents concernant les tâches et les missions du Comité d'Orientation RER et l'exécution de toutes les décisions du Conseil d'Administration concernant l'exploitation du RER l’organisation de la concertation avec les Sociétés régionales de transport.

Corporate Communications & Public Affairs est responsable des contacts avec les médias, de la communication externe sur la stratégie et les activités de l’entreprise et de la communication interne vers le personnel. Public Affairs veut offrir une meilleure compréhension de la politique menée par la SNCB en développant une relation de confiance avec les stakeholders.