Have you  experienced a delay on the national train network? We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by this situation. Below you will find some useful information about the conditions and procedure for submitting the compensation claim.

It is possible for you to obtain a certificate of delay online. However, a certificate of delay is not mandatory for making a compensation claim in the event of a delay or cancelled service.

Compensation: what conditions apply and how much are you entitled to?

Effective from the date of travel, you have 1 month to make a compensation claim using the claim form provided for this purpose. Make a note of the travel days and the journeys in question and keep your travel tickets in order to make a proper claim.

  • If you travelled using a Youth Multi, a Local Multi, a Standard Multi, a Student Multi, a Half-Time season ticket or a 10-Journey Card, send your request together with a photo of your paper transport ticket within a month after each trip concerned by the delay.
  • If you have travelled with a season ticket (except Student Multi or Half-Time), submit your compensation claim within a month from the date of the delay, stating your season ticket number/your MoBIB card number.
  • Your travel ticket must be valid at the time of the delay.

The terms of the reimbursement are as follows:

How to submit your claim?

  • Complete your claim online via My SNCB with the reference of the ticket, whatever the format of your ticket. You can also attach a photo of your paper ticket. No photo is required for a digital ticket, but the ticket number will be requested.

If you wish you may get a form in a ticket office, fill it and hand it in, or send it back (duly franked) with the original travel ticket (excluding season tickets on a MoBIB Card): SNCB Marketing & Sales, Customer Service, B-MS.1423 Avenue de la Porte de Hal 40, 1060 Brussels.

Under what circumstances does our compensation policy not apply?

  • if your delay has been caused by another public transport company (De Lijn, TEC, STIB, ...)
  • if you are travelling with a Youth Holidays or a legitimate ticket granting free passage
  • if you were informed of an eventual delay before purchasing the travel ticket
  • if you could take another train that could get you to your destination with less than 60 minutes delay.

If you have experienced repeated delays on the same route, you can submit every 6 month period a compensation claim for all of these journeys. Make a note of your travel days, itineraries and season ticket (MoBIB or Flex season ticket number) so that you always have them to hand. Send your compensation claim within 1 month from the end of the 6 month period. This period is calculated as from the first delay that is the subject of your compensation claim. Your travel ticket must be valid at the time of the delay.

The terms of the reimbursement are as follows:

How to submit your claim?

Enter your frequent delays via My SNCB.

If you wish, you may get a form in a ticket office, fill it and hand it in, or send it back (duly franked) with the original travel ticket (excluding season tickets on a MoBIB Card): SNCB Marketing & Sales, Customer Service, B-MS.1423 Avenue de la Porte de Hal 40, 1060 Brussels.

Under what circumstances does our compensation policy not apply?

  • if your delay has been caused by another public transport company (De Lijn, TEC, STIB, ...)
  • if you are travelling with a legitimate ticket granting free passage
  • if you did NOT travel with a season ticket
  • if you were informed of an eventual delay before purchasing the travel ticket
  • if you suffered a delay both on the outward and return journeys and less than 2 hours elapsed between the time of arrival of the outward journey and the departure time of the return journey.

Use this form if you wish to apply for a refund for any reason other than a train delay.

Changes to compensation requests

New compensation rules have been agreed under the new management contract between the government and SNCB. It is no longer possible to submit compensation claims for delays of less than 30 minutes.

Did you not yet submit your repeated delays? Then they were automatically sent to Customer Services and you will receive your compensation, regardless of the number of repeated delays you already submitted.

Requesting compensation for repeated delays from 30 minutes to 59 minutes is only possible for season ticket holders. Check the status of your requests here.

New compensation rules have been agreed under the new management contract between the government and SNCB. It is no longer possible to submit compensation claims for delays of less than 30 minutes. Requesting compensation for frequent delays is only possible for season ticket holders.
You can check the status for long delays here. For frequent delays, you can do so here.
New compensation rules have been agreed under the new management contract between the government and SNCB. It is no longer possible to request compensation for delays of less than 30 minutes. Requesting compensation for frequent delays is only possible for season ticket holders.
check2-anim
loader

Lors de votre voyage en train national, vous avez rejoint votre destination avec du retard ? Nous le regrettons sincèrement. Vous trouvez les informations concernant les conditions et les formalités à suivre afin d'introduire votre demande de compensation.

Il vous est possible d'obtenir une attestation de retard en ligne. Néanmoins, une attestation de retard n’est pas obligatoire pour obtenir une demande de compensation en cas de retard, correspondance ou train manqué.

Compensation : quelles conditions et quel montant ?

A compter de la date de votre voyage, vous disposez d'un mois pour faire votre demande de compensation via le formulaire de demande prévu à cet effet. Prenez note des jours de voyage et des trajets concernés et conservez vos titres de transport afin de soumettre une demande en bonne et due forme.

  • si vous avez voyagé à l'aide d'un Youth Multi, d'un Local Multi, d'un Standard Multi, d'un Student Multi, d'un Abonnement Mi-Temps ou d'une Carte de 10 voyages, envoyez votre demande accompagnée d’une photo de votre titre de transport au format papier dans le mois qui suit chaque trajet concerné. 
  • si vous avez voyagé avec un abonnement (excepté Student Multi ou Mi-Temps), introduisez votre demande de compensation dans un délai d'un mois à compter du jour du retard, avec mention du numéro de votre abonnement/numéro de la carte MoBIB
  • votre titre de transport doit être valable au moment du retard

Les modalités de remboursement sont les suivantes :

Comment soumettre votre demande ?

  • faites votre demande en ligne via My SNCB avec la référence du titre de transport, quel que soit le format de votre ticket. Vous pourrez également y joindre une photo de votre titre de transport au format papier. Aucune photo n’est demandée pour un titre de transport digital. mais le numéro du titre de transport sera demandé.

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez obtenir un formulaire au guichet, le compléter et l'y déposer, ou le renvoyer (dûment affranchi) avec le titre de transport original (sauf abonnements sur Carte MoBIB) : SNCB Marketing & Sales, Customer Service, B-MS.1423 Avenue de la Porte de Hal 40, 1060 Bruxelles.

Dans quel cas notre politique de compensation ne s'applique-t-elle pas ?

  • si votre retard est causé par une autre société de transport (De Lijn, TEC, STIB, ...)
  • si vous voyagez avec un Youth Holidays ou un titre de légitimation octroyant la gratuité
  • si vous étiez informé d'un retard éventuel avant l'achat du titre de transport
  • si vous pouviez prendre un autre train qui pourrait vous amener à votre destination avec moins de 60 minutes de retard.

Si vous avez eu des retards répétés sur le même trajet, vous pouvez introduire par période de 6 mois une demande de compensation pour l'ensemble de ces trajets. Notez bien vos jours de voyage, itinéraires et abonnement (numéro de carte MoBIB ou de Flex Abonnement) afin de toujours les avoir à portée de main. Envoyez votre demande de compensation dans le mois qui suit la fin de la période de 6 mois. Cette période est calculée à partir du premier retard faisant l'objet d'une demande de compensation. Votre titre de transport doit être valable au moment du retard 

Les modalités de remboursement sont les suivantes :

Comment soumettre votre demande ?

Remplissez vos retards fréquents dans votre compte My SNCB.

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez obtenir un formulaire au guichet, le compléter et l'y déposer, ou le renvoyer (dûment affranchi) avec le titre de transport original (sauf abonnements sur Carte MoBIB) : SNCB Marketing & Sales, Customer Service, B-MS.1423 Avenue de la Porte de Hal 40, 1060 Bruxelles.

Dans quel cas notre politique de compensation ne s'applique-t-elle pas?

  • si votre retard est causé par une autre société de transport (De Lijn, TEC, STIB, ...)
  • si vous voyagez avec un titre de légitimation octroyant la gratuité
  • si vous n'avez PAS voyagé avec un abonnement
  • si vous étiez informé d'un retard éventuel avant l'achat du titre de transport
  • si vous avez un retard lors de votre voyage aller et retour le même jour et qu'il s'est écoulé moins de 2 heures entre l'heure d'arrivée du voyage aller et l'heure de départ du voyage retour

Si vous souhaitez introduire une demande de remboursement pour une autre raison qu'un retard de train, veuillez utiliser le formulaire de contact.

Modifications des demandes de compensations

Dans le cadre du nouveau contrat de gestion entre le gouvernement et la SNCB, de nouvelles règles de compensation ont été convenues. Il n'est plus possible d'introduire des demandes de compensation pour des retards de moins de 30 minutes.

Vous n'avez pas encore introduits vos retards fréquents ? Dans ce cas, ils ont été automatiquement envoyés au Service clientèle et vous recevrez votre compensation, quelque soit le nombre de retards fréquents que vous aviez encodés.

Demander une compensation pour des retards fréquents de 30 minutes à 59 minutes n'est possible que pour les détenteurs d'un abonnement. Vérifiez le statut de vos demandes ici.

De nouvelles règles de compensation ont été convenues dans le cadre du nouveau contrat de gestion entre le gouvernement et la SNCB. Il n'est plus possible d'introduire des demandes de compensation pour des retards de moins de 30 minutes. Les demandes de compensation pour des retards fréquents ne sont désormais possibles que pour les abonnés.
Pour les retards de longue durée, vous pouvez consulter l'état de votre demande ici. Pour les retards fréquents, vous pouvez les consulter ici.
De nouvelles règles de compensation ont été convenues dans le cadre du nouveau contrat de gestion entre le gouvernement et la SNCB. Il n'est plus possible d'introduire des demandes de compensation pour des retards de moins de 30 minutes. Les demandes de compensation pour des retards fréquents ne sont désormais possibles que pour les abonnés.
check2-anim