The new law governing the transport police of 27 April 2018 came into force as from the 1st November 2018.

The law of 27 April 2018 identifies a series of behaviours as criminal offences. These are unlawful behaviours committed in trains, stations and more generally on railway premises.

This legislation (which replaces the previous law governing the transport police) now makes it possible to prosecute a range of offences by means of an administrative procedure, which may result in an administrative fine. While observing rights of defence, it will make it possible to prosecute these offences a lot more quickly and effectively to combat impunity and to relieve a judicial system, which is already greatly stretched.

This new system is inspired by joint legislation governing administrative sanctions, as well as regional public transport company legislation: STIB, De Lijn, TEC.

A distinction can be made between offences targeted by this legislation by subject or by possible prosecutions.

Distinguishing by subject:

1) Offences relating to travel tickets

2) Offences relating to anti-social behaviour committed on railway premises

3) Offences impacting on railway safety

Distinguishing by type of prosecution:

1) "Criminal" type: in principle, all the offences targeted by this legislation are punishable by criminal prosecution. However, for more effective management, the legislator has widely waived this principle in favour of prosecutions specific to each type of offence (decriminalised / mixed type).

2) "Decriminalised" type: about half of all offences targeted by this legislation have very simply been "decriminalised". In other words, rather than pursuing a criminal prosecution, the legislator has deemed it more effective to govern them by means of an administrative procedure (which may result in an administrative fine).

For example:

  • offences relating to transport tickets (exception: if this offence is committed for the 10th time within the space of a year, the case will be subject to a criminal prosecution),
  • "minor" acts of anti-social behaviour (riding a bicycle on railway premises, smoking on the train, etc.).

3) "Mixed" type: the other half of offences targeted by this legislation is qualified as being "mixed" in nature. This means that these offences are deemed to be serious and potentially requiring criminal prosecutions. To this end, for a period provided for by law, it shall be the competent court, which will be at liberty to prosecute or not to prosecute the offence before the criminal judge. If this is the case, the penalties are those provided for by criminal law. If, in contrast, the judge does not make a finding or communicates to SNCB that it deems that an administrative procedure is more appropriate, then the case will be governed as part of an administrative procedure, as though it were a "decriminalised" offence.

For example:

  • "serious" acts of anti-social behaviour (graffiti, violent behaviour, etc.)
  • breaches of security (abusively pulling the alarm signal, forcing open the doors of the train, etc.)

Depending on the type of offence committed (see "What are the different types of offences being targeted"), prosecutions are either criminal or administrative.

Always depending on the type of offence committed, if it is an offence relating to transport tickets, initially there is the option to deal with the offence as part of an out-of-court procedure set out in detail in the appendix of general transport conditions. 

If the case is being punished through a criminal prosecution, the person in question is liable for a custodial sentence of between eight days and five years and/or a criminal fine of at least 26 euros (increased by additional supplements – or currently multiplied by 8).

If the offence is being prosecuted as part of an administrative procedure, the person in question is liable for an administrative fine the amount of which may vary depending on the category of offence and depending of whether it's a first or repeat offence:

  • Category 1 - for example: smoking or riding a bike in a station
1st offence 2nd offence 3rd and following offences (within a year)
50 € 75 € 150 €
  • Category 2 - for example: graffiti or boarding the train while the doors are closing
1st offence 2nd offence 3rd and following offences (within a year)
100 € 250 € 350 €
  • Category 3 - offences involving transport tickets
1st offence 2nd and subsequent offences (within a year)
250 € 500 €
  • Category 4 - for example, exhibiting violent behaviour or disrupting rail traffic
1st offence 2nd and subsequent offences (within a year)
300 € 500 €

Exception: if the administrative fine is issued to a minor, who at the time of the offence was aged between 14 and 18, the administrative fine cannot be greater than 175 euros.

The administrative procedure starts with a letter being sent by registered mail notifying the person concerned that he/she has committed a breach of the law governing transport police and that he/she risks receiving an administrative fine. He/she will also receive the copy of the statement or report of the offence and is invited to respond by confirming his/her means of defence within a period of 30 days.

If the person concerned was between the age of 14 and 18 at the time of the offence or if he/she is an adult and has committed an offence punishable with a category-4 fine (see "What are the potential prosecutions and how much are the fines through the administrative procedure?"), he/she may otherwise request to be heard in court.

Having noted the means of defence of the person concerned or, where applicable, having heard him/her before a court, the sanctioning officer may only decide to impose or not to impose the administrative fine provided for by law. The value of the fines may not be varied.

The decision of the sanctioning officer is communicated to the person concerned by registered mail.

Yes.

Any person who has an administrative fine imposed on them may lodge an appeal within a period of one month following notification of the decision.

This appeal may be lodged by application to the competent police court (for adults) or to the competent juvenile court (for minors).

Once the appeal deadline has passed (see "Is there an option to appeal against a decision to impose an administrative fine?"), the decision imposing the administrative fine becomes enforceable. In other words, it may be sent to a bailiff to enforce recovery of the debt.

loader

Depuis le 1er novembre 2018, la nouvelle loi sur la police des chemins de fer du 27 avril 2018 est entrée en vigeur.

La loi du 28 avril 2017 reconnaît une série de comportements comme infractions pénales. Il s’agit de comportements illicites commis dans les trains, les gares et plus généralement dans les installations ferroviaires.

Cette législation (qui remplace l’ancienne loi sur la police des chemins de fer) permet dorénavant de poursuivre diverses infractions par la voie d’une procédure administrative pouvant déboucher sur une amende administrative. Tout en respectant les droits de la défense, cela permet de poursuivre ces infractions de façon beaucoup plus rapide et efficace afin de lutter contre l’impunité et décharger un système judiciaire déjà fortement encombré.

Cette nouveauté est inspirée de la législation communale sur les sanctions administratives, mais également des législations des transporteurs publics régionaux : STIB, De Lijn, TEC.

On peut distinguer les infractions visées par cette législation selon leur thème ou les poursuites possibles.

Distinction selon le thème :

1) Les infractions relatives aux titres de transport

2) Les infractions relatives à des incivilités commises dans les installations ferroviaires

3) Les infractions portant atteinte à la sécurité ferroviaire

Distinction selon le type de poursuite :

1) Type « pénal » : en principe, toutes les infractions visées par cette législation sont passibles de poursuites pénales. Cependant, en vue d’une gestion plus efficace, le législateur a largement dérogé à ce principe en privilégiant une poursuite adaptée à chaque infraction (type dépénalisé / mixte).

2) Type « dépénalisé » : environ la moitié des infractions visées par cette législation ont purement et simplement été « dépénalisées ». Autrement dit, au lieu de les poursuivre pénalement, le législateur a estimé qu’il serait plus efficace de les régler par le biais d’une procédure administrative (pouvant déboucher sur une amende administrative).

Par exemple :

  • les infractions relatives aux titres de transport (exception : si cette infraction est commise pour la 10e fois en l’espace d’un an, le dossier fera l’objet de poursuites pénales),
  • les incivilités « mineures » (rouler à vélo dans les installations ferroviaires, fumer dans le train, etc.).

3) Type « mixte » : l’autre moitié des infractions visées par cette législation est qualifiée de « mixte ». Cela signifie que ces infractions sont considérées comme graves et nécessitent potentiellement des poursuites pénales. A cette fin, durant un délai prévu par la loi, c’est le parquet compétent qui aura la liberté de poursuivre ou non l’infraction devant le juge pénal. S’il le fait, les sanctions sont celles prévues par le droit pénal. Si, en revanche, il ne se prononce pas dans ce délai ou s’il communique à la SNCB qu’il estime qu’une procédure administrative est plus appropriée, alors le dossier sera réglé dans le cadre d’une procédure administrative, comme s’il s’agissait d’une infraction « dépénalisée ».

Par exemple :

  • les incivilités « graves » (graffitis, comportements violents, etc.)
  • les atteintes à la sécurité (tirer le signal d’alarme de façon abusive, forcer les portes du train, etc.)

Selon le type d’infraction commise (cf. « Quels sont les différents types d’infractions visés »), les poursuites sont de nature pénale ou de nature administrative.

Toujours selon le type d’infraction commise, s’il s’agit d’une infraction relative aux titres de transport, il existe dans un premier temps la possibilité d’éteindre l’infraction dans le cadre d’une procédure amiable décrite en détail dans l’annexe des conditions générales de transport. 

Si le dossier est passible de poursuites pénales, le concerné s’expose à une peine d’emprisonnement de huit jours à cinq ans et/ou une amende pénale de 26 euros au moins (augmentés des décimes additionnels – soit actuellement multipliés par 8).

Si l’infraction est poursuivie dans le cadre d’une procédure administrative, le concerné s’expose à une amende administrative dont le montant peut varier selon la catégorie de l’infraction et selon qu’il s’agit de la première fois ou d’un cas de récidive :

  • Categorie 1 - par exemple: fumer ou rouler à vélo en gare
1ère infraction 2ème infraction 3ème infraction et suivantes (dans l'année)
50 € 75 € 150 €
  • Categorie 2 - par exemple: graffiti ou monter dans le train alors que les portes se ferment
1ère infraction 2ème infraction 3ème infraction et suivantes (dans l'année)
100 € 250 € 350 €
  • Categorie 3 - infractions relatives aux titres de transport
1ère infraction 2ème infraction et suivantes (dans l'année)
250 € 500 €
  • Categorie 4 - par exemple avoir un comportement violent ou perturber le trafic ferroviaire
1ème infraction 2ème infraction et suivantes (dans l'année)
300 € 500 €

Exception : si l’amende administrative est prononcée à charge d’un mineur qui, au moment de l’infraction était âgé de 14 à 18 ans, l’amende administrative ne peut être supérieure à 175 euros.

La procédure administrative débute par l’envoi d’un courrier recommandé par lequel le concerné est informé du fait qu’il a commis une infraction à la loi sur la police des chemins de fer et risque une amende administrative. Il reçoit également la copie du constat ou procès-verbal d’infraction et est invité à réagir en communiquant ses moyens de défense dans un délai de 30 jours.

Si le concerné était âgé de 14 à 18 au moment de l’infraction ou s’il est majeur et a commis une infraction passible d’une amende de catégorie 4 (cf. « Quelles sont les poursuites possibles et quels sont les montants des amendes en cas de procédure administrative ? »), il peut en outre demander à être entendu.

Après avoir pris connaissance des moyens de défense du concerné ou, le cas échéant, l’avoir entendu, l’agent sanctionnateur peut uniquement décider d’infliger ou non l’amende administrative prévue par la loi. Il ne peut pas adapter les montants.

La décision de l’agent sanctionnateur est communiquée par courrier recommandé au concerné.

Oui.

Toute personne qui se voit infliger une amende administrative peut introduire un recours dans un délai d’un mois après notification de la décision.

Ce recours peut être introduit par voie de requête devant le tribunal de police compétent (pour les majeurs) ou devant le tribunal de la jeunesse compétent (pour les mineurs).

Une fois le délai de recours passé (cf. « Existe-t-il une possibilité de recours contre une décision d’infliger une amende administrative ? »), la décision infligeant l’amende administrative devient exécutoire. Autrement dit, elle peut être transmise à un huissier de justice pour recouvrement forcé.