Did you know that our capital attracted 7 million visitors last year? In spite of this, not so many Belgian people travel to the capital on the pretext of "Brussels being more expensive" even though there are a range of activities at very affordable prices!

My aim: to spend a day in Brussels and to do as much as possible there, all on a modest budget. I head for the closest station: Charleroi-Sud. A Week-end ticket in my pocket, I board the train at 9h27 and I'm on my way!

In less than 50 minutes, I arrive at Bruxelles-Midi where I start my trek. 

Because I am interested in art and design and like picturesque districts, I start by exploring the district of Marolles. There I wander through the galleries and antique shops, which make this district so popular. After a 10-minute walk, I arrive at Hoogstraat where I stop for the "Andy Marhol" gallery. On the corner of the alleyway I discover a mural. A crazy shop window attracts my attention leading me to enter the Attitude Art Gallery.

This gallery is divided into 2 parts: the one is located at number 123 and the other at number 99 and is dedicated to the promotion of contemporary artists. There you can explore the surrealistic works of Jan Bucgoy about "The sex life of Kuifje" or the collages made up by the collection of the "Brussels Slip Museum". In short, modern works and a bit of triviality.

 

Attitude Art Gallery
Admission: The gallery is open every day from 11 hrs to 18 hrs. Admission is free.
Address: Hoogstraat 99 en 123, 1000 Brussels

 

At the end of my visit I see a shop with vintage clothing at "€ 15/kg". As a true shopaholic, I can't help myself from entering the shop! Inside I am surprised: everything is neatly ordered and the colours are organised by category. So you don't have to turn everything upside down to find that unique gem. And the well-organised layout of the shop helps you to stay within your budget.

Melting Pot Kilo
Admission: open every day, except Mondays
Address:
 Hoogstraat 154, 1000 Brussels

 

After exploring the district and a quick visit to the Flea Market (located at Place du Jeu de Balle and open every day of the year), I make for the centre to find something to eat. I take one of the 2 free lifts connecting the Marolles with the top of the city. Once there you have a breath-taking view of the capital.

 

I continue on my way crossing the extremely pretty Place du Grand Sablon and then dive into the heart of Brussels. Destination: la Friterie du Café Georgette. And yes, when in Brussels, (in my opinion) it is obligatory to eat chips!

It takes some time as there is a long queue at the chip shop, but service is quite fast. To keep things simple, I opt for a cone of chips with the famous "Georgette" sauce (a mix of mayonnaise, ketchup, onion and ... pastis!).
It costs me €3.50 for the chips and €1.30 for the sauce. This maybe seems a little expensive, but honestly a cone is big enough for 2 people. And the chips are fried in beef dripping and you can really taste it. It is wonderful.

Friterie du Café Georgette 
Admission: open 7 days a week from midday
Address: Greepstraat 37, 1000 Brussels

More info : www.cafegeorgette.be


 

With a full stomach, I take my time to allow my food to go down while I stroll to the Sewer Museum. The museum is located at the Anderlechtsepoort and the entrance is accessed via a pavilion.

You can visit free of charge with admission, if the weather has not been too rainy, to a storm basin of the Senne and a functioning collector. The other option is: a guided tour or the "Noises underground" tour in which a professional guide recounts the legends of the underworld of the city.

 

Good to know: every first Saturday of the month the guided tour is the same price as normal admission to the museum if you book by telephone. And, under the same terms, you can also attend one of the visits with guided narration on certain occasions. I went for this option and did not regret it. During our "rat story" the guide - story teller almost got me to even have an appreciation of rats.

 

The riolenmuseum (Sewer Museum)
Admission: open from Tuesday to Saturday. The price for adults is € 8 (free for anyone under 18)
Address: Octrooipaviljoen - Anderlechtsepoort, 1000 Brussels

After the 1-hour guided tour and having browsed around the inside of the Museum, I return to the city centre as after all of that, I haven't even had time to admire Grand-Place. But before doing so, a crafty waffle is calling... Right, the hardest thing is not finding one but sniffing out a good one.

Rue du Lombard, after a seeing a fine array of temptations, just before turning into Grand-Place, I notice a crowd in front of the building called "Waffle Factory". You'd think because it was part of a high street chain the products aren't as authentic and tasty as from a small traditional retailer... but not the case, everything is "100% home made", the waffles are otherwise made in full view of everyone as they prepare them by the entrance.

And what can be said is that there are waffles for all tastes: sweet, savoury or even filled with Belgian dark chocolate. The sign also suggests menus with an attractive option: €4.50 for a waffle and a drink (coffee or 33cl soft drink).

Waffle Factory
Accessibility:
open every day 
Address: rue du Lombard 30, 1000 Brussels
More info: bruxelles.wafflefactory.com

With waffle in hand, I leave to sit down on the Grand-Place where I can enjoy my sweet treat with a magnificent view.

As the day is drawing to a close, I make one last detour through a little street to the rear of the square to find a little souvenir of this fine day out.

I stop at the vintage post card and quirky posters shop "Avec Plaizier". Here, amongst other things, you can find authentically original photographs, art books as well as plenty of humorous books. It's not to be missed!

Avec Plaizier
Accessibility:
open every day, including Sundays
Addresse: rue des Eperonniers 50, 1000 Brussels
More info: www.facebook.com/avecplaizier

Upon leaving this mecca of visual art, I'm only a few metres away from the Brussels-Central station. So that's where I continue my journey of the capital (my rail ticket allows me to get off and on the train at any station in Brussels).

Travel expenses: a meal, admission to the Museum, a snack and a vintage photograph of the Marolles district as a souvenir, all for only € 18.30! Objective fulfilled ;-)

Did you know that the Week-end Ticket is a half-price return ticket? What a bargain!

*Discount only applies to the part of the Standard fare over and above the fixed amount per trip of € 1.1400 in 2nd class and of € 1.4820 (for distances up to and including 36 km), € 1.5960 (from 37 km to 51 km included) or € 1.7556 (from 52 km) in 1st class. The minimum price per single journey is nevertheless € 2.40 in 2nd class and € 3.10 in 1st class. The maximum chargeable distance is 150 km per single journey.

loader

Saviez-vous que notre capitale a attiré 7 millions de visiteurs l'année passée ? Pourtant, peu de Belges s'y rendent sous le prétexte que "à Bruxelles, tout est plus cher" alors qu'il existe des tas d’activités à prix abordables !

Mon objectif : passer une journée à Bruxelles et y faire un maximum de choses, tout ça avec un petit budget. Direction la gare à proximité : Charleroi-Sud. Un Go Pass 1 (€ 6,60/trajet pour les -26 ans) en poche, j'embarque dans le train de 9h27 et me voilà en route !

En moins de 50 min, j'arrive à Bruxelles-Midi où je commence mon périple. 

Intéressée par l'Art et le Design et appréciant les quartiers pittoresques, je pars à la découverte des Marolles et me balade dans les galeries et magasins d’antiquités abrités par ce quartier populaire.

Après 10 min de marche, j'arrive rue Haute où je m’arrête devant la galerie "Andy Marhol", je découvre une fresque murale au détour d’une ruelle. Une vitrine loufoque attire mon attention, je m’aventure à l'intérieur de l'Attitude Art Gallery.

Cette galerie se divise en 2 parties : l'une située au n°123 et l'autre au n°99, et est consacrée à la promotion d’artistes contemporains. On peut y découvrir des oeuvres surréalistes de Jan Bucquoy sur "La vie sexuelle de Tintin", ou bien des collages constituant la collection du "Brussels Slip Museum". Bref, des oeuvres modernes et peu banales !

Galerie Attitude
Accessibilité : ouverte tous les jours de 11h à 18h, l'entrée est gratuite
Adresse : rue Haute 99 et 123, 1000 Bruxelles

A l'issue de ma visite, j’aperçois un magasin de vêtements vintage qui affiche "€ 15/kg". En pure addict du shopping, je ne peux qu'y entrer ! Grande surprise à l'intérieur : tout est super bien rangé et les vêtements sont disposés par catégories. Il ne faut donc pas tout retourner pour dégoter la perle rare.

Et la balance du magasin vous aide à garder un oeil sur vos dépenses !

Melting Pot Kilo
Accessibilité : ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi
Adresse : rue Haute 154, 1000 Bruxelles
Plus d’infos : meltingpotkilo.com

Après avoir fait le tour du quartier et un rapide passage au Marché aux Puces (situé Place du Jeu de Balle et ouvert tous les jours de l’année), je me dirige vers le centre pour trouver quelque chose à manger. J’emprunte un des 2 ascenseurs gratuits qui relient les Marolles au haut de la ville. Une fois là-haut, on a une vue imprenable sur la capitale.

Je continue ma route en traversant la très jolie Place du Grand Sablon et je m’enfonce dans le coeur de Bruxelles. Destination : la Friterie du Café Georgette. Car oui, quand on va à Bruxelles, on est (selon moi) obligé de manger des frites !

On fait la file devant la Friterie, mais le service est très rapide. Pour faire simple, je prends un cornet de frites avec la sauce maison, la fameuse sauce "Georgette" (un mélange de mayonnaise, ketchup, oignons et… de pastis !).

Ca me revient à € 3,50 + € 1,30 pour la sauce. Ca peut sembler un peu cher, mais honnêtement la taille du cornet permet de nourrir facilement 2 bouches. Et en plus, les frites sont cuites à la graisse de boeuf et ça se sent… c’est vraiment très bon !

Friterie du Café Georgette
Accessibilité : ouverte 7j/7 à partir de 12h
Adresse : rue de la Fourche 37, 1000 Bruxelles
Plus d’infos : www.cafegeorgette.be

L'estomac bien rempli, je prends le temps de digérer en marchant jusqu'au Musée des Egouts. Le Musée est situé à la Porte d'Anderlecht et l'entrée se fait par un Pavillon. On peut choisir de le visiter librement avec accès, quand le temps n'a pas été trop pluvieux, dans un des pertuis de la Senne et dans un collecteur en fonction.

Une autre option : la visite guidée, ou bien la visite "Rumeurs intraterrestres" pour profiter du récit d’un conteur professionnel sur les légendes qui flottent dans les sous-sols de la ville.

Bon à savoir : chaque premier samedi du mois, la visite guidée est au même prix que l'entrée simple au Musée, à condition de réserver par téléphone. Et on peut également, aux mêmes conditions, assister à une de leurs visites contées à certaines occasions. J'ai donc choisi cette option et ne l'ai pas du tout regretté ! En nous "rat contant" la ville, le guide et conteur a même presque réussi à me faire apprécier les rats ;-)

Le Musée des Egouts
Accessibilité : ouvert du mardi au samedi. L’entrée est à € 8 (gratuit pour les -18 ans)
Adresse : Pavillon d’Octroi – Porte d’Anderlecht, 1000 Bruxelles
Plus d’infos : www.sewermuseum.brussels

Après 1h de visite guidée et avoir déambulé à l'intérieur du Musée, je reviens vers le centre-ville car avec tout ça, je n'ai même pas encore pu admirer la Grand-Place. Mais avant, un en-cas 'gaufre de Bruxelles' s’impose… Bon, le plus dur n’est pas d’en trouver une mais plutôt de dénicher la bonne.

Rue du Lombard, après une multitude de tentations, juste avant de tourner vers la Grand-Place, j’aperçois du monde devant un bâtiment nommé "Waffle Factory". On pourrait se dire que vu qu'il s'agit d’une chaîne, les produits ne sont pas aussi authentiques et savoureux que chez un petit marchand traditionnel… eh bien non, tout est "100% home made", les gaufres sont d’ailleurs faites à la vue de tous car ils les préparent dans l’entrée.

Et ce qu’on peut dire, c'est qu’il y en a pour tous les goûts : sucrées, salées ou même fourrées au chocolat noir belge. L'enseigne propose également des menus avec formule avantageuse : € 4,50 pour une gaufre et une boisson (café ou soft 33cl).

Waffle Factory
Accessibilité :
ouvert tous les jours
Adresse : rue du Lombard 30, 1000 Bruxelles
Plus d’infos : bruxelles.wafflefactory.com

Gaufre à la main, je pars m'installer sur la Grand-Place où je peux déguster mon plaisir sucré avec une vue magnifique.

La journée touchant à sa fin, je fais un dernier détour par une petite rue à l'arrière de la place, afin de ramener un petit souvenir de cette escapade.

Je m'arrête à la boutique de la carte postale vintage et des affiches décalées "Avec Plaizier". On y trouve entre autres des photographies vraiment originales, des livres d'art mais aussi beaucoup d'humour. A voir absolument !

Avec Plaizier
Accessibilité :
ouvert tous les jours, même le dimanche
Adresse : rue des Eperonniers 50, 1000 Bruxelles
Plus d’infos : www.facebook.com/avecplaizier

En sortant de ce temple de l'image, je ne suis qu'à quelques mètres de la gare de Bruxelles-Central. C'est donc de là que je repars de la capitale (mon billet de train me permet de descendre/monter à n'importe quelle gare de Bruxelles).

Dépenses de la journée : un repas, une entrée au Musée, un goûter et une photographie vintage des Marolles en souvenir, le tout pour € 18,30 seulement ! Objectif atteint ;-)

Saviez-vous que le Billet Week-end est un aller-retour à moitié prix ? Quelle bonne affaire !

*La réduction de 50% s’applique uniquement sur la partie du Tarif Standard excédant la redevance fixe, par trajet, de € 1,0402 en 2e classe et de € 1,6019 en 1re classe. En outre, il existe toujours un prix minimum, par trajet, de € 2,30 en 2e classe et de €3,50 en 1re classe. La distance maximale tarifée est de 150km par trajet.