We strongly advise you to make sure you have a valid ticket on you before boarding the train. You can easily buy a ticket through one of our different sales channels (website, SNCB app, ticket vending machine, the ticket counter).

If you board the train without a valid ticket, or if you have a valid ticket but are unable to prove it, there are two options available to you:

  • You buy a ticket at the On-board Fare (price of the ticket + €7) and continue on your journey.
  • You do not buy a ticket at the On-board Fare for any reason. The train conductor will then have to issue a statement of irregularity C170 (cost: €75), and you will be able to continue your journey.

Sometimes it is possible to be reimbursed for a ticket purchased at the On board Fare or to cancel a statement of irregularity C170, depending on the case:

  • If you didn’t have a valid ticket before boarding the train, you can contact the Customer Service if you think that you were prevented from buying an On-board Fare ticket for legitimate reasons, in view of getting a €75 statement of irregularity cancelled. You must then pay the amount of the On-board Fare ticket, as well as any administrative fees.
  • If you had a valid ticket but were unable to present it at the ticket inspection, you will have 14 calendar days (from the inspection date) to present your ticket or season ticket, valid on the inspection date in question, at a ticket counter of your choice, along with the ticket bought at the On-board Fare or the statement of irregularity issued during the ticket inspection, to be refunded the cost of your ticket or have your €75 fine cancelled at no cost.

Please also be aware that the €7 On-board Fare supplement will not apply in the case of:

  • products not available at a ticket vending machine;
  • boarding the train at a stop without a ticket counter or vending machine;
  • boarding the train at a stop where the conductor’s ticket machine indicates that the vending machine is out of order;
  • Diabolo fee for Brussels Airport – Zaventem;
  • tickets departing from Maastricht, Maastricht Randwyck, Eijsden, Aachen and departing from or arriving at Lille and any Luxembourg stations.

The conductor’s ticket machine automatically recognises where this is the case. Should a supplement be applied regardless (e.g. in the event of an out-of-order vending machine not flagged by the conductor’s sales system), please contact the Customer Service via this contact form.

No. A multi-journey ticket can only be purchased at the ticket vending machines or at the ticket counter.
A ticket bought onboard the train is for a single use and is only valid on the day of travel (or the following day(s) in the case of a Weekend ticket). The train conductors will stamp the ticket at the time of purchase.

If you are travelling with the same type of ticket, you will only be given one ticket for both of you. Otherwise, you will get 2 tickets.

Example 1: If you are both travelling on a Senior Ticket, you will only get one ticket for the two of you.
Example 2: If one of you is travelling on a Senior Ticket and the other on a Child Ticket, you will be given 2 tickets.

There are several ways you can check the contents of your onboard ticket. You can either go to the Statement of irregularity and ticket bought onboard the train page and enter your ticket number, or scan the ticket at a ticket vending machine, or ask for more information at the ticket counter or from the train conductor.

You will then be able to access the contents of your ticket, but no personal information will appear.

Where applicable, the train conductors can also record any supporting documents or changes to your journey on your ticket, as well as any statements of irregularity or antisocial behaviour.

The €7 supplement will not be applied in the following cases:

  • products not available at a ticket vending machine;
  • boarding the train at stops without a ticket counter or vending machine;
  • boarding the train at stops which show up in the train conductor’s ticketing machine as having a vending machine which is out of order;
  • general system breakdown;
  • Diabolo fee for Brussels Airport - Zaventem;
  • tickets departing from Maastricht, Maastricht Randwyck, Eijsden, Roosendaal, Aachen, Lille and any Luxembourg stations.

The conductor’s ticketing machine automatically recognises where this is the case. Should a supplement be applied regardless (e.g. in the event of an out-of-order vending machine not flagged by the conductor’s sales system), please contact the Customer Service via this contact form.

If your ticket is torn, creased or illegible, or if you are unable to show your ticket to the train conductor, you should either purchase a new ticket at the On-board Fare, or the train conductor will issue a Statement of irregularity C170, and you will be able to continue your journey.
You should then get in touch with the Customer Service via this form.

Nous vous conseillons vivement de toujours avoir en votre possession un titre de transport valable avant d’embarquer. Vous pouvez facilement l'acheter via un de nos différents canaux de vente (site web, app SNCB, automate de vente, guichet).

Si vous embarquez sans titre de transport valable, ou si vous avez un titre de transport valable mais êtes incapable d’en fournir la preuve, 2 cas de figure se présentent :

  • Vous achetez un ticket au Tarif à Bord (prix du ticket + € 7) et vous continuez votre voyage.
  • Vous n’achetez pas de ticket au Tarif à Bord, pour quelque raison que ce soit. L’accompagnateur sera alors obligé de dresser un constat d’irrégularité C170 (coût: € 75), et vous pourrez continuer votre voyage.

Sachez que des recours sont possibles en vue d'obtenir le remboursement d'un ticket acheté au Tarif à Bord ou l'annulation d'un constat d'irrégularité C170, selon le cas :

  • Si vous n’aviez pas acheté un titre de transport valable avant de monter dans le train, vous pourrez contacter le Service Clientèle si vous estimez que des raisons légitimes vous ont empêché d’acheter un ticket Tarif à Bord, en vue d’une annulation de l’amende de € 75. Vous devrez alors régler le montant du ticket Tarif à Bord ainsi que des frais de dossier.
  • Si vous aviez un titre de transport valable, mais n’avez pas été en mesure d’en fournir la preuve lors du contrôle, vous aurez 14 jours calendrier (date des faits comprise) pour vous rendre au guichet de votre choix avec votre ticket ou abonnement valable le jour des faits, ainsi que votre ticket acheté au Tarif à Bord ou votre constat d’irrégularité C170 contracté le jour des faits, afin d’obtenir le remboursement de votre ticket ou l’annulation de votre amende de € 75, sans aucun frais.

Veuillez également noter que le supplément de € 7 pour ticket Tarif à Bord ne sera pas compté en cas de :

  • produits indisponibles dans les automates de vente ;
  • embarquement depuis un point d’arrêt sans guichet ou sans automate ;
  • embarquement depuis un point d’arrêt où le système de vente de l’accompagnateur indique que l’automate de vente est hors service ;
  • panne générale du système ;
  • Supplément Brussels Airport (Diabolo) pour Brussels Airport – Zaventem ;
  • tickets au départ de Maastricht, Maastricht Randwyck, Eijsden, Aachen et au départ ou à destination de Lille et toute gare Luxembourgeoise.

Le système de vente de l'accompagnateur de train reconnait automatiquement ces cas de figure. Dans le cas où un supplément serait quand même compté (ex: une panne temporaire d’un automate non prise en compte par le système de vente des accompagnateurs), veuillez-vous adresser au Service clientèle via ce formulaire.

Non. Une carte à trajets multiples peut uniquement être achetée via les automates ou aux guichets. 
Un ticket acheté à bord du train est à usage unique et est uniquement valable le jour du trajet (ou le(s) jour(s) suivant(s) dans le cas d’un Weekend Ticket). Les accompagnateurs de train poinçonnent d'ailleurs le ticket.

Si vous voyagez avec le même type de ticket, vous ne recevrez qu’un seul ticket. Autrement, vous en recevrez 2.

Exemple 1 : Si vous voyagez tous les deux avec un Senior Ticket, alors vous ne recevrez qu’un seul ticket pour vous 2.

Exemple 2 : Si l’un de vous 2 voyage avec un Senior Ticket et l’autre avec un Kids Ticket (Billet Enfant), alors vous recevrez 2 tickets.

Pour consulter le contenu de votre ticket acheté à bord, plusieurs possibilités s’offrent à vous. Vous pouvez soit vous rendre sur la page Constat d'irrégularité et ticket acheté à bord du train et y introduire votre numéro de ticket, soit scanner le ticket à un automate de vente, soit vous renseigner au guichet, ou encore demander à un accompagnateur de train.

Vous aurez alors les détails de ce que contient votre ticket, mais aucunes données privées n’apparaîtra.

Sur ce ticket, les accompagnateurs de train peuvent aussi, le cas échéant, enregistrer les justificatifs et modifications de votre trajet, ainsi que les Constats d’irrégularité et d’incivilité.

Le supplément de € 7 ne sera pas compté en cas de :

  • produits indisponibles dans les automates de vente ;
  • embarquement depuis un point d’arrêt sans guichet ou sans automate ;
  • embarquement depuis un point d’arrêt où le système de vente de l’accompagnateur indique que l’automate de vente est hors service ;
  • panne générale du système ;
  • Supplément Brussels Airport (Diabolo) pour Brussels Airport - Zaventem ;
  • tickets au départ de Maastricht, Maastricht Randwyck, Eijsden, Roosendaal, Aachen, Lille et toute gare Luxembourgeoise.

Le système de vente de l'accompagnateur de train reconnait automatiquement ces cas de figure. Dans le cas où un supplément serait quand même compté (ex: une panne temporaire d’un automate pas prise en compte par le système de vente des accompagnateurs), veuillez-vous adresser au Service clientèle via ce formulaire.

Si votre ticket est déchiré, plié ou illisible, ou si vous ne parvenez pas à montrer votre ticket à l’accompagnateur de train, vous devrez soit acheter un ticket au Tarif à Bord, soit il rédigera une Constatation d’irrégularité C170, et vous pourrez poursuivre votre voyage.
Ensuite, prenez contact avec le S
ervice clientèle via ce formulaire.
loader