Depending on the qualification system, several steps are possible:

  • administrative examination
  • European Single Procurement Document (ESPD)
  • Financial risk analysis
  • Small and/or large scale testing - Testing period - Test reports
  • Audit of the production site
  • ...

These steps are described either in the general qualification procedure or in the technical specification.

Do you have an IRIS certificate? Then the SNCB can decide to take it into account in the qualification process.

Concerning the audits, the SNCB cooperates with Deutsche Bahn AG (DB AG), Österreichische Bundesbahnen AG (ÖBB) and Schweizerische Bundesbahnen AG (CFF).

To this end, a cooperation agreement has been signed, called the Cross Acceptance Agreement (CAA). You can find the link below to

The objective is to reduce the number of audits at suppliers: only one of the four railway companies audits a common supplier and the other three take over the audit results.

The supplier's agreement is requested prior to a CAA audit.

Here too, an IRIS certificate is taken into account, i.e. the scope of the CAA audit is aligned with the result of the IRIS audit report and the Corrective Action Requests.